top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturePriscilla

Purging and Remembering

Updated: Nov 9, 2019



J was helping me clean out my old laptop and of course that led to looking old pictures and watching videos from recent years that seem so long ago. I find it refreshing to remember. I can tell just how much I've changed. What has stayed the same. The good, the sad, the funny.


What I most enjoyed remembering was our dating, engagement, wedding, and honeymoon. That season of life.


So, please enjoy a little story I wrote for our wedding website about the day we got engaged.


---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------


"What's that?" he said.

"What?"

"That."

"You mean the church steeple…?" Seemed kinda obvious to me… But maybe I was seeing something different than what he was pointing at.

"Well, is it? Are you sure its a steeple? Maybe its something else." He's acting weird. He knows what a steeple is. What is he thinking?

"Yes J, I think it is a church steeple. Can you not see it very well? That is a church." I keep talking, but he seems to have moved on and the only response I get is silence for a bit.

"Babe? Priscilla." I turn around, but not right away. My heart tumbling around inside my chest, I get that overwhelming feeling that something tremendous is about to happen. Something I want so badly, that I have been waiting for for so long, and yet hardly dared expect would happen tonight.

On one knee holding up a little ring. His hand trembles slightly and he looks nervous.

"Will you marry me?" Yup, he sounds nervous, too.

"YES!" A thousand times YES! Forever and always YES! Through health and sickness, YES! Through sorrows and sadness YES! Baby, through life and death, YES!!!

No, I didn't cry, though not for lack of emotion. I embraced him, feeling his body shake slightly.

"You shaking! You were nervous, weren't you?!"

"I was SO nervous!" His laughter is joyous and beautiful to hear. A laughter of relief. It's finally done! The question had been asked!

"Wait, did you say yes?!" In the excitement, he had forgotten to listen for my answer.



bottom of page